For the new kid in the kitchen…

You say Potato… I say BORING

How boring is the plain old American Spud. Idaho… I’m not sure why you’re so proud of this? If my state’s food was practically taste-less unless doused in butter or deep fried I wouldn’t be cheering myself on quite so much.

Until recently, my strategy for cooking the humble potato was as follows:

  • Turn on oven
  • Throw potato in oven
  • Take potato out an hour later and begrudgingly top it with butter in hopes that it will actually taste like something
  • Of course the microwave was always a go-to solution if I was short on time, and feeling even more apathetic towards just how bland my dinner was going to be.

To cure my taste-bud boredom, I first tried switching to sweet potatoes (or yams, if you will), but this only added a small bit of flavor to my potato regiment. Recently, however, I’ve discovered a few tricks and tips to jazz up this humble spud.

I offer you …

Brown Sugar Glazed Sweet Potato Hash.

  1. To begin, peel 2-3 small sweet potatoes.
  2. Chop these into small cubes (the smaller the cubes the faster the cook time). This is all about personal preference here.
  3. Add the sweet potato bits to a bowl with some olive oil, and toss to combine.
  4. Stir in a large frying pan over med-high heat until slightly crisp on the outside.
  5. Add in 1/4 cup brown sugar and stir to melt and combine.(for those with a particularly sweet tooth feel free to bump up the level of sugar)
  6. Add a few dashes of cinnamon for an extra flavor punch then serve.

What can I say… this delicious little recipe tastes less time to cook than a traditional potato, tastes a whole lot better, and incorporates sugar into a dinner food! What more can you ask for? Hope you guys enjoy!

4 responses

  1. Emily

    Who is the girl holding the spatula and can I get her number?

    February 4, 2011 at 12:30 am

    • sharna

      too funny girl!

      February 4, 2011 at 1:24 am

  2. Rima

    love the idea. gonna make it sooooon.

    February 5, 2011 at 3:05 am

  3. Pingback: Olive Oil Makes Everything Better « Novice Noms

Leave a comment