For the new kid in the kitchen…

Better Not Forget The Butternut!

So the other night I sat down and thought hard about what my return to Novice Noms should hold. I scratched my head and began to sort through endless hours of cooking shows and online recipes that danced through my memory, trying to find something that I could dumb down and make. Ultimately, the ongoing blizzard outside narrowed my choice down to something made with ingredients lying around my apartment (keep in mind, that this usually includes pre-made burritos, cereal, some pitas, and a bag of carrots).

Luckily, my eye landed on a butternut squash that I had bought about to weeks ago, and proceeded to neglect ever since. For this weeks recipe, I crafted a simple little Roasted Butternut Squash side-dish out of this gourd (along with a few other herbs), and I think you will really enjoy it.

Check yo’self before you wreck yo’self:

  • Preheat oven to 400
  • Cover large baking tray with non-stick spray
  • Take out a large mixing bowl for all of your ingredients

Let’s get cookin’:

  • Peel and dice squash into cube about 1 in. x 1 in. This by no means needs to be perfect. But similar sized will ensure more even roasting.
  • To your bowl add
  • 2 cloves of pressed garlic
  • 2tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • Toss until fully coated
  • Put into sheet and bake for 30 min to an hour (depending on the level of desired doneness… I like mine a little more crispy)
  • Be sure to gently flip your squash every 1o minutes or so, or you are at risk of a giant stuck-on mess.
  • Serve and enjoy!

 

And that’s about it. I told you we were going to ease back into this didn’t I? Hope you give this healthy little side-dish a shot, and until next week, enjoy!

 

One response

  1. Chris Linsner-Cartwright

    So glad you are back Juliana… I really enjoy your posts! :-) chris

    March 15, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.