For the new kid in the kitchen…

Oh My – Matzo Brei

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I love passover as much as the next Jew, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t craving a giant bowl of pasta and a apple fritter right about now. Aside from stuffing myself full of chocolate and other sweets, I’ve found the only good way to deal with your no-carb cravings is to appease them with Passover-friendly dishes.

One dish in particular that has always been a favorite on mine (although I’ve never attempted to make it until now) is matzo brei. I guess you could call this meal the Passover equivalent of french toast. Traditionally consumed as a breakfast food in most homes, I grew up eating this meal any time of day.

This recipe is as simple as it is delicious. Here’s what you need:

  • 2 Sheets of matzo for every egg you use ( each egg serves about 1)
  • Butter for the pan
  • Splash of milk to lighten

Prep:

  • Break your matzo apart with your hands and soak in a bowl of water for 5 min.
  • In a separate bowl scramble your eggs
  • Strain your matzo then pour eggs over your soggy pieces
  • Add a splash of milk to lighten up the “batter”
  • Melt butter in a frying pan
  • Pour “batter” into the pan, then flatten so that it covers the surface
  • Cook on low for about 10 minutes then flip over and cook another 10 minutes
  • Serve and enjoy!

I always top mine with some sort of sweet item to give it a little more flavor. My personal favorite is maple syrup, although my family prefers to just sprinkle sugar on top.

and P.S. – A little Matzo Rap –> Enjoy!

One response

  1. phyllis

    My favorite jam or jelly on the matzo brei doubles the pleasure .
    I enjoy your choice of recipes
    and equally like your stories that introduce what’s coming up.
    When email Novice Noms comes , I go there first.

    April 23, 2011 at 5:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.